Interview with Blenda Bligh, Author of Stradi’s Violin

cover-page.jpg
Tell us about your book, Stradi’s Violin. What was your inspiration for this story?

It started when a friend told me this incredible story of a deaf relative that played the violin in the symphony. She brought me pictures from the newspaper showing her great-aunt with her violin and the story was validated. My interest was piqued, and at the time I was reading a little history about the Great Depression. Inspired by what I was reading, and the story of my friend’s relative, I begin to write. The characters came to vivid life little by little in snippets of time; I wrote in between my busy family life and my administrative office job.

Do you play the violin?

Sadly, I do not play any instrument, but I am a great admirer of those who do.

What was it about the violin that inspired you–why not some other instrument?

Well, as I said before it was the story my friend told me, and since the violin was the instrument, I stayed with it. Besides it is a beautiful, soulful instrument that stirs passions!

Did you have to do a lot of research about music and violin playing in order to write this novel? What sources did you use?

I did read a lot about the great violinmaker Stradivarius. I felt that the violin in my story should be very special, and what better than one made by the genius himself? I read about his violins, and others using resources on the Internet.

bluebonnets.jpg
Do you listen to music while you write? If yes, who’s your favorite composer?

I don’t normally listen to music while I write – I am too busy thinking about the character, and what he or she would say or do. I tend to loose myself in the story.

Do you do an outline before you start the actual writing, or are you more of a stream-of-consciousness writer?

I often wondered why I couldn’t seem to write the more conventional way, but I’ve got to be honest – I don’t care for outlines. I’m definitely a stream-of-consciousness writer!

Have you written other books?

This is my first published work. In my younger days, I wrote lots and lots of poetry, but nothing that I ever tried to have published. I guess for me writing is more of a hobby, and writing is a very liberating exercise of the mind.

Where is your work available?

My book is available from Publish America, Amazon Books, Barnes & Nobles, and through wholesalers Ingram, Baker & Taylor, and Brodart Co.

Do you have a website were readers may learn more about you and your books?

Thanks for asking! Yes, please go to stradisviolin.com.

Is there anything else you’d like to share with our readers?

Only this, if you have been thinking about writing, but keep putting it off, stop right where you are and start writing! Take it from me – I am an ordinary person – nothing special. No unusual skills or talents. However, I am a very blessed person. Today, this grandmother realized a lifelong dream to be a writer. My first book has been published – an epic tale of depression-era perseverance, love and a young girl’s unique gift.

Thank you, Blenda!

Blenda has agreed to send me a copy of Stradi’s Violin and I will be posting my review here soon.

Leave a Reply

